PROJECT: HEATING

It has been a very exciting week!  I was dreading coming home last weekend, The Boyfriend was away, I’d spent hours in the car and the warning light had just come on to say it was getting cold outside – I therefore did not want to leave my warm car and enter the freezing house.

I could tell something was different as soon as I turned the key and I think I’d have opened a bottle of bubbly if I wasn’t on my own.  It sounds weird but I could ‘smell’ the heating as I stepped inside as I wasn’t greeted by the usual cold draft.  It was a major landmark!!  It was so nice to be able to walk in and take my coat off (I normally keep it on as long as possible).  For the first time in weeks, the house felt nice and cosy.  The entrance hall is still freezing so all the doors have to be kept shut but I’m not complaining as we’re heading in the right direction.

As it was so dark I wasn’t able to investigate upstairs but this weekend I’ve been able to go for a proper explore and can confirm that nearly all of the new radiators have been installed and are working – whoop whoop!! IMG_2616 IMG_2615 IMG_2608 IMG_2606 The boiler has taken a lot of time to get set up and the bathroom it is in is such a mess that I can’t imagine it ever looking like a nice guest bathroom but we can worry about that in the future.  For now, we can just be excited to have a new and improved heating system up and running.

IMG_2397On the subject of heating, we also been improving the insulation system.  This has meant The Boyfriend has spent a lot of time up in a tiny space but we’re hoping it will all be worth it in the end.

IMG_2602IMG_2123IMG_2121

About katerenovates

Hello and welcome to Kate Renovates - a blog about my attempts at renovation. The Husband and I have now been living in our house for four years and changes are being made slowly. It's an unloved Victorian townhouse that had been converted into two flats. Armed with a little bit of know-how and bags of enthusiasm, we have turned it back into one house and are transforming it into our home. Many of the original features remain but the flats had been rented out and so none of the rooms were in great shape. Luckily, it has a fully functioning kitchen and we recently finished the new bathroom and so things are getting more and more comfortable all the time. We're learning as we go and sharing our ups (and downs) on here as we try (fingers crossed) to bring the house back to life. I'd love to hear your thoughts on my blog or any tips you may have on our house project, so to contact me, please email katerenovates@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Work in progress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

