HOLIDAY INSPIRATION

I think it is fair to say that The Boyfriend will probably be dictating the interior design of the house a lot more than I will.  Firstly, I’m rubbish at making decisions and secondly he has a much better eye for what goes with what.  Luckily, we both have similar tastes and so hopefully there won’t be too many surprises.

As well as magazines and TV shows he gets a lot of his ideas from hotels he stays in on holiday or when he is away with work.  If we are away together we often pick out bits from the accommodation that we’d like to try to introduce to our house (if budget was no issue).  Usually it is things like surround-sound in the bathrooms or Wingback chairs for the bedroom but there have also been a few baths and lamps that I’d have liked to squeeze into my suitcase and taken home with me.

A few weeks ago, we went up to stay in The Lake District with The Boyfriend’s family and rented a fantastic house near Windermere.  The rooms were lovely and spacious and there were many features that we both agreed we’d happily replicate in our house.  Sadly we don’t quite have the same space but there were a few things that we could definitely scale down to fit…

The family bathroom was a deep plum colour with a wooden style floor and cream paneling around the room.  As well as the simple design we also liked the free-standing bath and deep window sill.

The Boyfriend is a big fan of brass bed frames and thinks this is what we should have in our guest room – they remind me slightly of the film BedKnobs and Broomsticks so I’m not sure but I must admit that they did look cosy in this house.

The living room was probably my favourite room as I love an open fire – it convinced us that we definitely want to try to fix the fires in our house.  Even if we only use them a couple of times a year it will be worth it.

I think we are probably a good 12 months off working on the interior design of our house but I’m really looking forward to it.  We’ve just got a lot of wood chip to get through first!

About katerenovates

Hello and welcome to Kate Renovates - a blog about my attempts at renovation. The Husband and I have now been living in our house for four years and changes are being made slowly. It's an unloved Victorian townhouse that had been converted into two flats. Armed with a little bit of know-how and bags of enthusiasm, we have turned it back into one house and are transforming it into our home. Many of the original features remain but the flats had been rented out and so none of the rooms were in great shape. Luckily, it has a fully functioning kitchen and we recently finished the new bathroom and so things are getting more and more comfortable all the time. We're learning as we go and sharing our ups (and downs) on here as we try (fingers crossed) to bring the house back to life. I'd love to hear your thoughts on my blog or any tips you may have on our house project, so to contact me, please email katerenovates@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

